MPPI is actively involved in two awards programs:  our own “Exceptional Service” and “Friend of Planning” awards, as well as the annual student awards at the University of Manitoba Department of City Planning.




MPPI Awards

Exceptional Service Award:  Awarded to a member of the Manitoba Professional Planners Institute who has demonstrated extraordinary professional or significant volunteer contribution to the profession.

Friend of Planning Award:  Honours a person from the broader community, who is not a member of the planning profession, for their contribution to planning.

An MPPI Awards Selection Committee appointed by MPPI Council considers nominations and makes the selections.  

Exceptional Service

Chris Leach, MCIP, RPP


No Recipient 2016
David Hicks, MCIP, RPP, MMM Group 2015
Donovan Toews, MCIP, RPP, Landmark Planning & Design Inc. 2014
Lloyd Talbot, MCIP, RPP 2013

Friend of Planning

Mike Tillett 2017
No Recipient 2016
Giles Bugailiskis, Heritage Conservation Advisor 2015
Bill Menzies, Senior Transit Planner, Dillon Consulting Ltd 2014
Mayor Steve Strang, RM of St. Clements 2013


Student Awards

MPPI Student Case-in-Point Excellence Awards

The MPPI Continuous Professional Learning committee, in partnership with the University of Manitoba department of City Planning, is pleased to sponsor Student Case-in-Point Excellence Awards. This award was established to recognize excellent student/practitioner collaborative research on 'best' and/or 'cutting-edge' planning that contributes to 'taking the pulse' of professional planning practice in Manitoba or of notable practice elsewhere that is deemed relevant to the Manitoba planning community.

This collaborative research assignment is a requirement for all students of the City Planning program through the Professional Planning Practice course.  Eligible students are encouraged to submit their Case-in-Point projects for review. Award categories include the $200 Grand Award, a $50 Special Commendation and Honourable Mention. In order to be considered, the submission must also be worthy of publication on our website.

To determine 'excellence', a jury of practitioners reviews the submissions and determines an appropriate award based on how well the following requirements are met: Format, Style/Personality, Objectivity, Readability, Cutting-edge/Best Practice, Transferability, and Lessons Learned. For further details please contact our Executive Director, Marilyn Steranka at who will put you in touch with a volunteer on the CPL Committee.

2017 Case-in-Point Recipients

Conor Smith 
Grand Prize

with Don Hester

Sustainability in Planning: From Principle to Practice

Matthew Robinson  
Grand Prize

with Rob Galston, Jae-Sung Chon & Roxanne Gratton

Designing Streets as a Public Space: How Design Interventions can Transform the Street Environment

Larissa Blumenschein Honourable Mention

with Tom Janzen and Jacob Edenloff

Planning for a Winter Mindset: The Role of Urban Interventionism at Winnipeg's Forks International Historic Site

2016 Case-in-Point Recipients

Jason Syvixay                                                                    
Grand Prize

with Jino Distasio

Getting the Job and Keeping It: Making the case for a Work-Skills Program for Homeless Participants of At Home/Chez Soi"

Evan Allan
Honourable Mention

with David Jopling and Meagan Boles

The Best of Both Worlds: Hybrid Zoning Innovation in Rosser CentrePort


Thomas B. Yauk Endowment Fund

In memory of Thomas B. Yauk (M.C.P./73), the Manitoba Professional planners Institute (MPPI), friends and colleagues have established an endowment fund at the University of Manitoba. The fund is used to provide one or more scholarships for graduate students. See below for more information:

Thomas Yauk Endowment Fund


Sonikile Tembo Research Proposal: TRC's Principles of Reconciliation 2018
Lissie Rappaport Inclusionary Zoning: Planning for Affordable Housing in Winnipeg 2018
Adam Fiss   2017
Deepa Chandran Transportation Inclusion and Community Wellbeing: Exploring Public Transit Accessibility to Winnipeg's North End Neighbourhoods 2016
Lucy Ramirez & Blanka Bracic   2015
Rebecca Copping & Veronica Hicks   2014


Tip to members:  Reading the case-in-point assignments is a great way to get unstructured CPL credits and keep up on the latest and greatest trends in planning!